Wednesday, June 22, 2005

Domain Registry of America is at it Again!

Some people just won't be told. After being taken to court and rapped over the knuckles by the Federal Trade Commission for misleading consumers, the Domain Registry of America (DROA) is back to their old tricks and mailing out confusing letters to domain holders advising their domain registrations are expiring, leading many consumers to unwillingly switch their domain name registrar and usually pay a higher price in the process. You can read more on the situation here and here.

In December 2003, the Federal Trade Commission requested that a federal district court instruct the Internet domain name reseller from making misrepresentations in the marketing of its domain name registration services. But that apparently didn't stop them.

I had thought I'd seen the last of Domain Registry of America, but I got another of their misleading letters today. Here are some priceless extracts from the letter:

"As a courtesy to domain name holders, we are sending you this notification of the domain name registration that is due to expire in the next few months..."

"You must renew your domain name to retain exclusive rights to it on the Web, and now is the time to transfer and renew your name from your current Registrar to the Domain Registry of America. Failure to renew your domain name by the expiration date may result in a loss of your online identity making it difficult for your customers and friends to locate you on the Web".

The cheek of them using such misleading and threatening verbage. And my domain doesn't even expire till November! Some people call this type of approach a scam. DROA have written to me claiming that they resent being called "scammers". What a shame. I resent receiving their letters but they don't stop sending them.

Don't be fooled people. If you get a letter or email from the people at Domain Registry of America, file it where it belongs - in the bin. You can also file a complaint with the FTC and call or email Domain Registry of America directly and request to be taken off their mailing lists.

You can also protect your address from being collected by using the privacy features most registrars now offer domain holders, although there is usually a charge to keep your details private. Sad but true.

Labels: , ,

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

11 Comments:

At 7:25 AM , Anonymous said...

Hi. I received one of these letters today. Return address on the envelope is Domain Registry of America, 56 Gloucester Road, Suite 526, London, England SW7 4UB

Is this a seedy hotel address or something??

 
At 12:24 PM , Kalena said...

Most likely!

 
At 2:21 AM , Anonymous said...

I received one of these letters today and thought it sounded kind of bogus. I'm realy glad I did some research on this before I signed it! Thanks for the info!

 
At 5:35 AM , Anonymous said...

I get those all the time. They used to send "invoices" for your domain registry every time you registered a domain. I expect many of them got paid.

 
At 6:36 AM , John D Smith said...

Hi
I received an 'official' looking letter from DroA. I checked with my domain provider and they warned about the scam and gave me your site address. I have taken my letter to the police and filed a complaint, I really hope they follow this up.
J. Smith (my real name!)

 
At 12:43 PM , Kalena said...

That's great John. Go get 'em!

 
At 7:53 PM , Anonymous said...

Yep same here,

I was just about to move to the USA in 4 months time. I receieved a letter stating I own more domain names than I should. While doing a search own www.whois.net, my brother legally owns 2 out of the 3. They missed one of domain names that I own from the search.

Their charges are too high £18, elsewhere £8.99

 
At 5:56 AM , Chris said...

Hi. I just received this in the email because I'm the technical and admin contact for my clients:

Hello Client name,

The transfer and renewal of your domain name, clientsdomain.com is not possible at this time.

Reason:
-------
1) The Domain name is currently in a "REGISTRAR-LOCK" status with your current registrar SCHLUND+PARTNER AG
2) We require that you provide us with an EPP Key/Authorization Code from your current registrar

In order to complete the transfer and renewal, the "REGISTRAR-LOCK" status needs to be removed and an EPP Key/Authorization code needs to be obtained. Please see below for instructions on achieving this.

Solution:
---------
- Log into your account with your current registrar, and change the status of your domain, clientsdomain.com, from "locked" to "active".

- Then look for the EPP Key or Authorization Code.

Alternate Solution:
---------
- Call your current registrar, SCHLUND+PARTNER AG (see phone number below) and ask them to remove the lock status of your domain name, give you your EPP Key, and allow the transfer to Domain Registry of America.

- Once done please notify us that you have done so, by clicking on the link below, or calling our toll-free number below.
https://namejuice.com/agree.asp?e=1&o=1480921&p=vkyy

We will then re-attempt the transfer and renewal of your domain name.


As a convenience, we have supplied your current registrars phone number below.

Domain: clientsdomain.com
Current Registrar: SCHLUND+PARTNER AG
Registrar Phone Number: Please visit their site to contact them

Transfer Department
Domain Registry of America
Toll free 1-866-434-0212 or for International Callers, dial +1(905)479-2533

6/28/2007 2:07:20 PM

--

Is this cheeky or what?

 
At 12:59 AM , Josh Wexelbaum said...

I received the letter yesterday. Last year, my mom received one and she almost paid it because she thought it was a bill! (Luckily, I stopped her in time)..

So I got so aggravated that I called up Domain Registry of America and recorded the conversation. I posted the audio file to my blog:

http://www.scrappybusiness.com/domain-registry-of-america-scam.htm

 
At 7:43 PM , Kalena Jordan said...

Thanks for sharing that Josh - very amusing! Your URL got cut off in the comment but for the benefit of others it was:
/domain-registry-of-america-scam.htm

 
At 5:58 PM , Pete said...

I got one of these yesterday. When I saw the empty field for me to fill in my credit card number and exp.date the alarm bells rang immediately.. :)
(As well as the return address in England for a NYC based company..)

 

Post a Comment

<< Home


Proposal templates ready for editing